Books by John Prescott

From short stories to novellas to novels… See what adventures are now available for purchase from the mind of author John Prescott.

Scroll down or click on a title below to jump to a description and links for that book further down the page. Links open in a new tab.





Buy the paperback — Buy the e-book

Alex heard the reports on the nightly news his father always had playing in the background. Threats of nuclear Armageddon were becoming ominously commonplace. Still, he never thought he’d live to see the day that the rhetoric became reality.

He thought wrong.

He and his father raced for the military Cryo-Facility as reports poured in from England and the US of nuclear missile launches from both sides. He kept checking the rear-view mirror, hoping to glimpse his mother’s car.

Alex’s father tried to reassure him that his mother would make it to safety. There was still time. Alex closed his eyes in his cryopod and said a silent prayer for his mother.

He awoke to blaring klaxons and flashing lights. The people in the pods beside him were dead. He was completely alone. Fifty-two years had passed.

Now Alex ventures into a world he does not know. He will try to find his father, who might yet live, and his mother, who surely couldn’t have survived, in the After.

Back to Top


Buy the paperback — Buy the e-book

2032. Nuclear Armageddon robbed Alex Preston of the world he knew. He awoke half a century later to a whole new reality.

He soon learned that society hadn’t learned its lesson. Alex answered the call, fighting against the brutal forces of the Militia. The United military rallied, ultimately stopping the Militia from triggering a second nuclear reckoning.

The Militia crumbled. The United began systematically disassembling what remained of their sinister forces. Eventually, only remnants of the Militia remained.

Power abhors a void. It appears another, more powerful military force is stepping in to take the place of the Militia. Alex and the United will once again be asked to restore order to the After, but the question is, have they met their match?

Back to Top


Buy the paperback — Buy the e-book

In the far future, robots and human-like Synthetics have become a part of everyday life for the citizens of New Wave City. Detective Max Kincaid’s okay with the robots, but the Synthetics? Not so much.

That becomes a problem after a meeting with Daryl Marston propels him into a murder conspiracy directly involving the artificial humans, something that should be impossible. Max soon finds himself working with the machines he despises to discover who wants Daryl dead. In the process, he learns Synthetics can be as unique as the humans they emulate.

Digging deeper, Max finds an ever-widening conspiracy that involves two warring factions of enhanced Synthetics and the company that created them. What he discovers brings into question whether he even truly knows who he has been working with.

Who is real, who is Synthetic, and who is the next target? Max finds himself in a race to sort it all out before Daryl, and possibly humanity, runs out of time.

Back to Top


Buy the paperback — Buy the e-book

Simon Travers just died.

He didn’t even know it at first. There was no light to go into. There was nobody to hold his hand. There was just overwhelming pain and confusion.

Left to his own devices, Simon has to find his way in a world that is wholly familiar, yet completely alien to him. He soon learns that being a ghost has its perks. Though all he really cares about is finding his recently departed daughter, Lucy.

Unbeknownst to Simon, powerful forces are watching his every move. You see, there’s something deeper to the man. Something that could lead to the apocalypse.

The reality of his situation slowly comes into focus as the forces of Heaven and Hell vie for Simon’s favor. Both sides want Armageddon, but only Simon can decide who will prevail. But what if there’s a third choice?

What if he chooses neither?

Back to Top


Buy the paperback — Buy the e-book

Sometimes ignorance isn’t bliss.

He woke up in the dirt, staring up into the eyes of two curious children. He was welcomed back to life by a menacing robot and its hot-headed owner. By the end of the day, he learned the world had ended. All this paled next to his most pressing issue.

He didn’t know who he was.

Judged for the clothing he wore, and who he might be, he is thrust into the desert to find his place in a world he can’t remember. Now he must use what instincts he has to survive in this new world while he struggles to remember the old one.

“Echoes” is the first in a planned five-part series following the adventurers of Raven, a soldier that time forgot. Will he find himself? Will he remember his place in the world? Are the people he encounters his friends, or his enemies? The road we follow rarely takes us where we expect it to. Will you follow Raven’s?

Back to Top


Buy the paperback — Buy the e-book

Raven has found his focus.

He pursues a target at the behest of the US Army, with the promise of a window into his past should his hunt prove successful. Lending him support is a branch of the Diamondback Coalition, led by none other than Jesse Walters.

Everyone has an angle.

Raven must walk a fine line drawn between two warring factions. The Army wants him to take his target prisoner. The DB simply wants his prey eliminated.

Raven only wants answers.

“Hunter, Hunted” is the second book in a multi-part series following the adventures of Raven, a soldier that time forgot. The man he seeks could unlock his past, but he has to find him first, and he has to keep him alive. Which faction will get its wish?

Back to Top

NO ROAD HOME Book Three: Risen

Buy the paperback — Buy the ebook

Raven did what was asked of him. The Army had their man. It wasn’t enough.

Denied the answers promised to him, Raven begins his journey anew. Another piece of his increasingly dark puzzle falls into place, thanks to an old friend. With it comes a renewed offer of information in exchange for the recovery of a vanished body.

Meanwhile, the fate of Langtry, Texas hangs in the balance. Once ignored by the military, it has become a strategic hotspot. Who ultimately controls this valuable asset may be decided by one dead man looking for another.

“Risen” is the third book in a multi-part series following the adventures of Raven, a soldier that time forgot. Saddled with more questions than answers, the weary soldier must pursue a prize he thought already won, stolen away by forces yet unknown. Will he be able to accept the truth of what he finds?

Back to Top

Fat Mop Zoo Presents: The Interludes AGAIN

Buy on Amazon

From the website with the unusual name comes the book with the unusual stories! “Fat Mop Zoo presents: The Interludes AGAIN” is a series of short-short stories and one longer one by author John Prescott. Most of the stories in this collection were originally published on the website, along with the serialized adventures of Fred and Jacob.

Once discontinued, John chose to bring “The Interludes” back due to unpopular demand, because f*** you! You’ll read it, and you’ll like it! This edition includes an updated intro by the author, as well as the consolidated short story “Fred and Jacob Save Christmas” from the website.

There’s now TWENTY-TWO short stories spanning the science fiction and fantasy genres. Take a final flight with the dragon Ezekiel in “Soulfire Point”. Chase down a super-powered alien criminal in “Casino Showdown”. Observe an encounter between a jet fighter and a UFO in “Close Encounter”. Plus nineteen more stories! Add it all up and it’s one hell of a collection you won’t find anywhere else but here.

Back to Top